On May 2, the Western Canadian Music Alliance announced the talented artists and members of the music industry that have been nominated in the 2018 categories. The winners will be honoured this fall at BreakOut West in Kelowna, BC, which takes place from October 10-14. The full list of nominees is online at breakoutwest.ca, and the Hall of Fame announcement will be coming soon!

2018 is shaping up to be an exciting year for the WCMAs, with nominee representation from all six Member Associations, as well as Nunavut. Nunavut has landed a whopping seven nominations; a strong showing for the first year of submissions being open to the territory’s artists.

Nominated from Nunavut are The Jerry Cans (BreakOut Artist of the Year, Roots Duo/Group of the Year, and Songwriter(s) of the Year), Riit (Indigenous Artist of the Year), and Aakuluk Music (Community Excellence Award, Impact in Artist Development, and Impact in Music Marketing).

Other Northern nominees are NWT’s Quantum Tangle (Indigenous Artist of the Year), and Yukon’s own Kim Beggs (Roots Solo Artist of the Year) and Sophie Villeneuve (Francophone Artist of the Year).

Voting is now open to members of all western Provincial or Territorial Music Industry Associations. All members will be sent an email regarding login information to vote (beginning today, Wednesday, May 2). Voting will conclude at midnight, Central Time, on Wednesday, May 16.

Congratulations to all the nominees! View the complete list here.